Congratulations and well done to all the students and staff who participated in the Senior Strings Retreat held recently.  The music making was marvellous and much was learned as  students were skillfully guided by the expert staff.

The retreat culminated in a spectacular concert which displayed the musicianship developed throughout the retreat.

The extensive program featured well known as well as lesser known works as below:

  •  Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture by the combined orchestra with conductor Mr Hardie
  •  Beethoven violin sonata
  • Viola sonata solo
  •   Piazolla Bass solo
  •  Gaspar Cassado Cello solo,
  • All solos with beautiful piano accompaniment by Annabelle Clucas.
  • Vivaldi’s Gloria
  •  Grieg Peer Gynt Suite -Asse’s Death and Hall of the Mountain King
  • Piazzolla Libertango as a Flash Mob (all by memory),
  • Nishimura Beautiful Flowers
  • Holst Brook Green Suite by Chamber Strings


About the author