Wellbeing Team

We value students’ achievements and learning and have additional staff in place to support students in reaching their learning goals. Fundamental to a student’s success is their emotional and social wellbeing. Blackburn High School employs a Student Wellbeing Team which is made up of:

  • Student Wellbeing Coordinator (full time)
  • Chaplain (full time, partially funded through the National School Chaplaincy Program)
  • Assistant Principal
  • School Nurse
  • DEECD Student Support Service Officers (part time)

Educational Psychologist

Speech Pathologist

The Wellbeing Team provides comprehensive support for a range of issues including:

  • Social difficulties
  • Organisational and study skills
  • Emotional challenges
  • Building resilience and coping skills
  • Behavioural difficulties
  • Learning needs
  • Coping with stress
  • Family challenges, including family break-up
  • Grief and loss
  • School refusal
  • Relationships
  • Risk taking behaviours
  • Mental health
  • Child safety concerns

 

Resources and Helpful Links

Mental Health

Youth Beyond Blue          www.youthbeyondblue.com

headspace                          https://www.headspace.org.au/

Reach Out                           www.reachout.com

 

Parenting Support

Dr. Michael Carr-Gregg                  http://www.michaelcarr-gregg.com.au/

Relationships Australia                   https://www.relationships.org.au/

Andrew Fuller                                 http://andrewfuller.com.au/

Cyber Safety Solutions                http://www.cybersafetysolutions.com.au/for-parents.shtml

eSafety                                           https://esafety.gov.au/

 

 

Whitehorse Youth Connexions                   http://www.whitehorse.vic.gov.au/youth-services.html

Youthlaw                                                     http://youthlaw.asn.au/

YSAS Box Hill                                              http://www.ysas.org.au/boxhill

Eating Disorders Victoria                             www.eatingdisorders.org.au

The Butterfly Foundation                             www.thebutterflyfoundation.org.au

Black Dog Institute                                       http://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/

ADAVIC                                                        https://www.adavic.org.au/

Autism Victoria                                           http://www.amaze.org.au/

Dr Tony Attwood                                         http://www.tonyattwood.com.au/index.php

Asperger’s Victoria                                     http://www.aspergersvic.org.au/

 

 

 

For immediate support and counselling

Life line                13 11 14             www.lifeline.org.au

Kids Helpline      1800 55 1800      www.kidshelpline.com.au

headspace          1800 650 890     www.headspace.org.au

Beyond Blue       1300 224 636     www.youthbeyondblue.com

Parent Line         132 289              www.parentline.com.au

Chaplain
  • Chaplaincy is partially funded through the National School Chaplaincy Programme (NSCP) and the remainder through personal donations raised by the Blackburn High Chaplaincy Committee (a committee made up of parents of current students at Blackburn).
  • NSCP aims to support the emotional wellbeing of students by providing pastoral care services and strategies that support the emotional wellbeing of the broader school community.  At Blackburn High School we have a 40-year-long history of Chaplaincy and this has enabled us to further support and care for our students, staff and families.

“When a school works to facilitate positive school-based relationships, bullying is less likely to thrive, student wellbeing is enhanced and there is a greater likelihood of higher student engagement with school”

Department of Education and Training.